Skip to content

Who needs syrup?

March 9, 2011

….When you’ve got peanut butter (and banana)!

Goooooood morning! How are ya? Good, me too! In fact, I’m doing absolutely swell!

I had a wonderful Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana combo today! (I know Alex understands my undying love for this combo!)

Katie’s Red Velvet Pancakes, in waffle form!  So chocolatey….yum.

I stirred some unsweetened shredded coconut and a little stevia into the batter, so it was like a big German Chocolate Cake waffle!  It was delicious and dark.

The waffle has a reddish tint and I didn’t even add the red food coloring! haha!

If you haven’t made this recipe yet, you are missing out!

Photography 101 :)

It was really sunny out today when I took these photos. The photo above was taken in the broad daylight.

This image was taken in the shade. Notice the difference? Which one do you like better? I like the one in the shade, it’s a lot more pleasing to the eye. What do you think?

Whenever I take photos of my meals, I almost always take them outside. Our house doesn’t have a lot of great natural light. Natural light is so much better for photos.

I hope you all have a fabulous day! I have lots of Algebra 2 to catch up on in my online high school class, ugh.

What do you have to do today?

Do you have a waffle iron?

39 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2011 9:18 am

    I like the one in the shade as well!!!

    I’ve got TONS of chem work to do…ugh

  2. March 9, 2011 9:19 am

    I wish I had a waffle iron!! Im stuck with pancakes, not that I mind too much, because pancakes are one of my favorite things in the world :) Today I have work, school, workout, work again, then jr high group!! Today is my busy day if you didnt notice ;)

  3. March 9, 2011 9:26 am

    Looks amazing! I do not own a waffle iron but I put one on my wedding registry, so maybe I will get one!

    Have a great day ! xoxo <3

  4. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    March 9, 2011 9:38 am

    YES!!!!!!!!!!!! Chocolate, Peanut Butter and Banana ROCK!!!!!!! And that waffle looks drop dead gorgeous, girl!!!! Thanks for the shout out ;)

  5. March 9, 2011 9:40 am

    your photos are SO BEAUTIFUL!!! .. i do have a waffle iron but havent made waffles in a solid 7 years.. wooot! im already half way through my day ahah its afternoon for me!

  6. March 9, 2011 9:44 am

    Love the new look of your blog! The header is super cute. I think you told me how you do it one time, but I don’t remember?

    Anyway, your waffles look amazing! Chocolate + PB + Banana = Heaven.

    I totally agree with you about lighting. I’m trying to be better about taking my pictures by one of our windows. It gets great lighting… it just requires a bit more effort. :)

  7. March 9, 2011 9:51 am

    OMG those are gorgeous! Beyond gorgeous! I can’t choose a favorite; they ALL look incredible! Way better in waffle form than mine in pancake form!

    Also, I think your whole layout is adorable. Do you know the font of your header? I *heart* it!

    Happy Wednesday, pretty lady :).

  8. March 9, 2011 10:15 am

    I have enough waffle irons for the blogging community. Actually I just have two ha. I love chocolate waffles and with peanut butter seriously the bomb.com. You should try dark chocolate pb waffles. It’s what has been giving me my kick lately.

    • March 9, 2011 10:17 am

      These ones were kind of like dark chocolate waffles! But I’m thinking dark chocolate cocoa powder would be even better!

  9. March 9, 2011 11:20 am

    Hello,

    I am Jasmin from A Touch of RoJo and my husband and I wanted to pass along the Stylish Blogger Award to you. I love this layout and the fonts from Kevin and Amanda are pretty cool. I’ve checked them out myself. Healthy, nuticious eating is important and it’s good to see a young person latch on to that idea. The overnight oats recipe looks awesome. Keep up the good work and we will keep checking back for more updates. You can refer to our site for guidelines and instructions.

  10. March 9, 2011 11:35 am

    I love putting peanut butter and bananas on my waffles!! Best combo. :-)

    I have today off (which I haven’t had in a week) so I am just going to relax at home and try to “rest out” this cold.

    No waffle maker for me; I buy the Van’s variety.

  11. March 9, 2011 12:05 pm

    That waffle looks AMAZING! My waffle maker just broke :( but when I get a new one this is one the list of waffles to try right away!!! I don’t think I’ve ever had a chocolate waffle before…that must change!

  12. March 9, 2011 12:41 pm

    I have a waffle maker at home but when I’m at school I dont :/ sadly. I made a protein blueberry waffle yesterday actually! paired it w vanilla greek yogurt mmmmm

    yours looks delish! my blueberries burned a little so it looked not so good…

    • March 9, 2011 1:16 pm

      I KNOW! My blueberry waffles always come out as flops because the blueberries burn and get stuck, tis not a pretty sight.

  13. March 9, 2011 12:55 pm

    I have a griddler, but I want a waffle iron SO BAD! it’s on the to-buy list. ;)

  14. March 9, 2011 1:21 pm

    I want a a waffle now :) I don’t have a waffle iron, but my fiance does at his apartment – thank goodness! :) On my schedule today? Work, workout, night class from 5:30 – 9:30 Come onnn, spring break!

  15. March 9, 2011 2:00 pm

    I haven’t had a waffle in years! I think I do have an iron around here somewhere though!

    Whitney

  16. March 9, 2011 2:21 pm

    I haven’t had waffles in so long!! I MUST make these this weekend! I hope I get around to it because they sound soo good right now! :)

  17. March 9, 2011 2:59 pm

    I love waffles but I never make any since I don’t own a waffle maker. Yours look so delicious tho! :D

  18. March 9, 2011 3:12 pm

    All of the photos look delicious, but I agree that the one in the shade is better!

  19. March 9, 2011 4:49 pm

    I NEED a waffle iron!! I’ve actually never had waffles before, but yours looks SO AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS I know I have to rectify this!! :P

    • March 9, 2011 5:23 pm

      I got mine for cheap at the thrift store and it works wonderfully! I hope you can find one because waffles are so fun!

  20. March 9, 2011 5:35 pm

    I have a waffle maker. We make waffles every sunday in my house. I’m a waffle queen, they are the best :)

  21. March 9, 2011 6:12 pm

    German chocolate cake for breakfast? Yes please :D.

  22. March 9, 2011 6:17 pm

    I want waffles now! I almost never eat them. What a great way to change up a pancake recipe!
    Today I have to do my homework and blog.. other than that I will eat and read blogs! That’s basically what I do at night.

  23. March 9, 2011 8:13 pm

    Oh I totally want waffles now! Both pics look equally great :)

  24. March 9, 2011 8:28 pm

    Red velvet waffle?! Girl, I’m coming to your house for breakfast from now on!! ;)

  25. March 9, 2011 9:51 pm

    Yum that waffle looks delicious! I like the picture in the sunlight because I think the shadows makes the photo look pretty
    I have a waffle iron! (note to self make waffles soon)

  26. March 9, 2011 11:18 pm

    I’m always scared to make a pancake recipe into waffles because I think I read somewhere that they are slightly different. Have you had success doing that switch for the most part?

    • March 10, 2011 11:50 am

      I’m sure that taking a pancake recipe and making it into waffles isn’t going to work 100% of the time, but so far it’s working! I wouldn’t worry too much, how different could they be, you know?

  27. March 10, 2011 12:38 am

    yummmmm i need to make pancakes like ASAP!

  28. March 10, 2011 3:41 pm

    You are SO right! Who needs syrup when you have Peanut Butter and Bananas!!! :D I love waffles! I am so going to make these! :D

    I love your new header btw!

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  29. March 11, 2011 5:18 pm

    Mmm, a perfect topper to the perfect waffle! Sometimes I wish I had a waffle iron. And then other times I wonder if I would actually use it. I’m much more of a pancake person, but it’s nice to switch things up every once in a while, ya know?

    I like the shade pic better. I’ve found that direct sunlight is just too harsh on foodie pics…and sometimes it makes your spinach pancakes look like veggie burgers! (check out the comments on my “Kabocha, Kombocha, & Monster-cakes” post!)

    PS: I LOOOOOOOOOVE YOUR NEW HEADER! It’s perfect!

Trackbacks

  1. I Want A Little Savory « Little Miss Healthify
  2. user's Blog! » Tasty Tuesday: Savory Waffles

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers