Skip to content

Old-Lady Knees

February 22, 2011

Hey guys!

So, this morning Chipper and I went on a lovely walk. It was a bit foggy, as you can see.

I love walking along the peaceful water. The path is mostly grass and dirt, so it’s easy on my old-lady knees.

There’s always a “perfect photo” moment on the path, too.

We came upon some vultures. These birds freak. me. out.

You do know what they eat, don’t you?

I guess it’s just how nature works, though. So what am I complaining about!?

After our 1 hour walk,  I hurried home because I was a starvin’ marvin’. (<–who came up with that anyway?)

Allison over at King Arthur Flour sent me some awesome goodies (you’ll hear more about these in the coming days) in the mail the other day!

I couldn’t wait to try the oat bran that I’ve heard so much about (especially from Heather) but can’t find anywhere!

The oat bran is the outer husk of the oat grain. It contains dietary fiber and lots of nutrients of the oat grain.

The Nutrition Facts stated that one serving was 3 Tbsp. Apparently they don’t eat oat bran as hot cereal! I measured out Tbsp.’s until I got to a 1/2 cup oat bran and, if I measured right, there’s only 100 calories in 1/2 cup oat bran. That’s 50 less than rolled oats. Awesome.

I cooked a bit less than 1/2 cup oat bran in 1 cup water. Stirred in 1 1/2 Tbsp. chia seeds, more water, some canned pumpkin, cinnamon, vanilla extract, unsweetened shredded coconut and 1 scoop of chocolate protein powder. I didn’t add any sweetener, so it was pretty bland. After the photo I stirred in some frozen blueberries. That did the trick.

Just this afternoon, I received a pack of Pure Bars in the mail! It’s like Christmas in February around here!

Only better, because it’s foooood. I tried the Trail Mix Bar as an afternoon snack. I just couldn’t help mah-self.

It was pretty tiny for a 200 calorie bar. But the Ingredients list is totally excellent.

The bar was on the sweet side from all the dates and agave. It tasted super yummy, though! I gobbled it up in seconds, I’m not one to prolong the existence of bars. Get in mah belly!

I needed a quick sip of water, sweet things make me thirsty! I haven’t been drinking enough water lately. So today I kept my Tinker Bell mug (from DisneyWorld!) full of water on my desk all day with me. It really helped me drink more water and I realized that water helps me feel fuller and eat less. :) Oh, and pee more…

Well, I hope you enjoyed this rather post full of photos!

Currently there is no more nut butter in the house and I’m freaking out and having heart palpitations because of it.

I must get to the store and get some Smucker’s Natural Peanut Butter, pronto!

Here’s a random question:

Do you wear earrings? I got my ears pierced when I was 11, but I never wear earrings!

39 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2011 5:06 pm

    Mm! Your oatbran with pumpkin looks awesome! and I actually JUST got my ears pierced! Would you believe it!?
    And I am about to embark on my 2- week anniversary on Friday :)

  2. February 22, 2011 5:21 pm

    I love oatbran! I just need to get some! YOur oats sound lovely!

    No nut butter!!!!! Oh no, no, no.

    I love wearing earings! :D

  3. February 22, 2011 5:24 pm

    I have to try oat bran! I’ve seen it on blogs but have never had it yet, probably because I love regular oats so much. I have my ears pierced too, but don’t wear earrings very often. Usually the only kinds I’ll wear are just plain studs, and I have those in a lot of colors. But other than that I’m not really a fan and theres been times where I’ve thought that my holes might close up. :/

  4. February 22, 2011 6:05 pm

    I just bought some oatbran, and it was good, but the serving size IS tiny- and I had 1/3 of a cup! I’m going to soak them overnight and see if that makes it bigger.

  5. February 22, 2011 6:26 pm

    I love walking! I think it is the most underrated form of exercise/relaxation – I always feel so refreshed after a nice speed walk!
    As for the QOD I got my ears pierced when I was 6 and wear earrings almost everyday. They’re the one piece of jewelry I can’t be found without! ;-)

  6. February 22, 2011 6:28 pm

    I wear earrings very rarely. I actually just got mine pierced a couple years ago…go figure I’m behind the times.

    Vultures freak me out so much girl. I cannot stand those birds.

  7. February 22, 2011 7:13 pm

    I wear earrings quite a bit, but they’re clip. For some reason, I can’t stand the thought of piercing my ears. But who knows, I might change my mind someday! :)

    Your pictures are beautiful, and your oat bran looks delicious! I LOVE oat bran! :)

  8. oatsandspice permalink
    February 22, 2011 7:52 pm

    I just received a pack of Pure Bars too – I am so excited to try them allll :)

    And I am totally obsessed with oat bran lately – I like your rendition with peanut butter and jelly – looks delish!

  9. February 22, 2011 7:56 pm

    I add oat bran to my oatmeals but have never tried it on it’s own before. But yeah, it’s definitely very bland without any sweeteners.

  10. February 22, 2011 8:03 pm

    Aw why do you have old lady knees!?! I’m so jealous of your hour long walk with your pup! My dog can’t walk anything longer than 30 minutes…and even if he could, it’s wayyy too cold outside to stay out that long anyway!

    I love oatbran!! I buy it at the bulkbins of WF usually, but I’ve also bought bobs red mill kind:)

    Oh, and I got my ears pierced in 3rd grade and literally ALWAYS wear earrings! I switch between my pearls and diamonds…I guess I’m a girl of class;)

  11. February 22, 2011 8:11 pm

    I used to love oatbran but now I just cook my grains and puree them :) I like it better for some reason :P
    Oh and, I totally understand the nut butter freak-out lolll I would react the same way! Luckily, I’ve never been in that situation yet :P

    • February 23, 2011 10:30 am

      I was going to try to puree oats, but I like a chewy texture! :)

  12. February 22, 2011 8:20 pm

    I’ve never seen vultures before!!! Cool! I’m always wearing earrings. I have 3 in each ear, and if I don’t have them in, my ears look so gross haha!

  13. February 22, 2011 8:22 pm

    Oat bran looks delicious. I’ve never had it but now I want to try it.
    I wear my earrings nearly all the time. I even used to wear them when I went to bed.

  14. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    February 22, 2011 8:22 pm

    What a gorgeous walk :) And yes, those birds freak me out, too!

  15. February 22, 2011 8:27 pm

    Yay for a fun walk. :)

    I wear earrings all the time. I have double piercings on my earlobes and then my left cartilage is pierced. The second piercings and my cartilage always have tiny hoop earrings in them (even when I shower and sleep). I change them out to fancier earrings a handful of times a year. My bottom two (original) piercings are the ones that I wear different earrings in every day. Usually bigger ones. I especially love my big sparkly hoops, but I like lots of variety. My sister always buys me the best earrings so I have fun with that. But, I do take those out for showering/swimming/sleeping/etc. :)

  16. February 22, 2011 9:13 pm

    I just bought me some oat bran! I love mixing it in with rolled oats, it has a great texture. :)

    I have my ears pierced twice on both sides. I got the first ones done when I was 4, and the other two done when I was 14-ish. I rarely wear earnings though, I try to remember but it doesn’t usually happen ;)

  17. February 22, 2011 9:16 pm

    So funny. I rarely wear earrings either, but I’ve been wearing them lately. I think it’s b/c I am feeling the need to look girly at times seeing as for the most part I walk around in a sweatshirt and yoga pants all day. So, when I get a chance to go out to lunch or meet a friend for coffee, I’ve been wearing earrings. It’s kind of fun – only problem is I only have 2 pairs that I actually like. The others are so outdated.

    So happy to hear you liked the oat bran. I’ve never tried the King Arthur brand, but that company makes the most amazing Vietnamese cinnamon. Seriously, I can eat it straight up with nothing but a spoon.

  18. February 22, 2011 9:20 pm

    Your photography is beautiful (: You should enter it one in my photo challenge coming up soon!

  19. February 22, 2011 9:33 pm

    Chipper is such a cute name!!
    I would love to try one of those bars. What’s better than fruit, nuts, and chocolate combined?

    I wear earrings everyday. I always wear hoops because I don’t like to take them out to go to bed. One time I wore studs to bed and it went inside my ear! I had to get it cut out and it was gross.

  20. February 22, 2011 10:11 pm

    I have yet to buy oat bran. I’ve never even tried it! This is something I gotta get on asap. And I love wearing earrings!

  21. eatspinlive permalink
    February 22, 2011 10:18 pm

    Those pictures are so pretty! That looks like an amazing path! And I have never tried oat bran because I am so addicted to steal cut oats…but I might just have to try them now! :)

  22. February 23, 2011 12:18 am

    What a lovely looking walk!

    I actually don’t wear earrings very often. I’m allergic to nickle so I have to wear genuine gold earrings or else my ears will start to get a rash. Yuck. I’ve tried those “sensitive ears” earrings and they don’t work very well.

  23. February 23, 2011 12:28 am

    Love that those Pure Bars are GF ;)

    Btw, those pics are beautiful!! Such great scenery for a walk!

  24. February 23, 2011 5:50 am

    so jealous! i use 1/4 cup oat bran and 1/4 cup oats and its 200 cal.. JEALOUS
    that is SUCH a beautiful walk!

  25. February 23, 2011 7:09 am

    I dont know what I would do if i was out of nut butter! I must eat it daily or I get headaches…no joke! haha
    Those stats are awesome – I need to find that asap or have someone send it to me!

  26. February 23, 2011 7:45 am

    I have a picture of a vulture on my blog too from a while back… there was one just a couple houses away (I live in a residential neighborhood, mind you!) chomping on a dead squirrel. :)

    • February 23, 2011 10:32 am

      We live in a residential neighborhood, too and we see them all the time! It’s crazy! We also see peacocks, armadillos, raccoons (that get into our trash) and sand hill cranes. Haha, Florida is full of wildlife :)

  27. February 23, 2011 11:55 am

    Eee, vultures scare me too! Those and buzzards (are those the same?). Despite the creepsters, it looks like it was a gorgeous walk.

  28. February 23, 2011 3:22 pm

    I feel totally naked without earrings on I need to have them on at all times! LOL

  29. February 23, 2011 3:28 pm

    Whoa, I’ve never seen a vulture before! I’d probably be freaked out if one was walking around my neighborhood like that! I live in a small town that’s a suburb of a big city, so there aren’t many animals around (except tons and tons of squirrels, and I think I remember seeing a deer once, but that’s very rare).

    Have you seen The Proposal? Those vulture pictures remind me of this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-JqIZpupAqs (but that would be really bad if it happened).

    I loove earrings, but I usually only switch between 2 pairs.

    Megan

  30. runyogarepeat permalink
    February 23, 2011 3:30 pm

    The oat bran sounds awesome! I wear earrings on occasion like out to dinner or with friends, and I usually stick to my favorite earrings from Costa Rica.

  31. Alexandra permalink
    February 23, 2011 8:00 pm

    I actually wear earrings all the time! I have had my ears pierced since I was 11, too!

    I have a question for you — do you count calories? You seem excited about lower calorie options and eating less and I was just wondering. I just want to say that lower calorie isn’t always good! The more calories, the more energy! Just remember that! Sorry to preach — haha — but I used to struggle with anorexia/orthorexia so I try to help people be balanced with food as much as I can! I hope that wasn’t uncalled for!

    ♥Alexandra

    • February 23, 2011 10:21 pm

      Thank you for your concern! I guess I did make it sound like I was excited about lower calories, but trust me, I do not count calories anymore. I have been down that path and it has been a long, hard, journey to get back to not counting. I was never officially diagnosed with anorexia or bulimia, but I have recently suffered with the symptoms of both. Although I don’t count calories obsessively like I did last summer, I do believe it is important to watch our intake! I eat lots of calories in a day, and I was just noting the fact that oat bran does have less calories than oatmeal, which surprised me. I eat plenty of nut butter (so lots of calories)!

  32. February 23, 2011 11:39 pm

    Oh, I’ve never ever tried oatbran. I wonder how I would like it compared to oatmeal.

    Your photography shots are beautiful!

    I’ve never tried Pure bars; they look great.

    I can’t wear earrings! :( I got my ears pierced at like, 1, but they get red and nasty every time I wear them.

  33. February 25, 2011 12:30 am

    Love oatbran just hate the smaller serving size. Since I am all about quantity in my breakfast bowl, I like soaking mine overnight…it really helps puff them up!

    Love your “perfect photo moment”

    Out of nut butter?? Completely? Somebody call 9-1-1!!

    I wear earrings everyday (mostly just studs when I’m working at the hospital). If I forget them, I feel naked! ;)

  34. February 28, 2011 9:36 pm

    I have old-lady knees too! :x

    Whitney

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers