Skip to content

How To Make Greek Yogurt

February 9, 2011

So apparently some of you guys already make your own Greek yogurt, which is AWESOME! That surprised me, though, because I have NEVER heard of anyone making their own Greek yogurt!!

***

Plain yogurt is too drippy and liquidy for me. But plain Greek yogurt is a different story! So creamy, thick and tangy compared to regular old plain yogurt!

Greek yogurt is also very expensive. I don’t know the exact price, but making Greek yogurt at home is a TON cheaper than buying Greek yogurt at the store.

Yup, you heard that right. You can make your own Greek yogurt at home.

Please observe:

Apparently (you guys are going to flip), Greek yogurt is just plain yogurt, strained. And you can strain your own plain yogurt at home and it’s soooo easy!

Erica Lea’s Greek yogurt tutorial on was so easy to follow!

All you need is:

a large bowl, a colander/strainer, lots of layers of paper towels (or cheesecloth) and plain yogurt!

Pour plain yogurt (mind you, it will decrease by half) onto the many layers (I used 6-8 layers) of paper towels. Fold the paper towels over the yogurt. Place a plate and heavy bowl on top of the folded-over paper towels.

Refrigerate the mighty contraption for 4-8 hours (I did overnight). The pressure from the plate and heavy bowl on the paper towels will drain the liquid from the plain yogurt.

In the morning, you’ll have this.

Thick, pillowy and creamy Greek yogurt.


Here’s a question I had:

Doesn’t Greek yogurt have more protein than regular plain yogurt?

Yes, it does. And homemade Greek yogurt is no different. Greek yogurt is more concentrated and compact than plain yogurt, thus it has more protein per serving.

I am so glad that I did this! I thought it would be hard and require special equipment, but it’s easy! If I can do it, trust me, you can too!

Also, I love how I can flavor it to my own liking and there’s no added sugar!

What are you waiting for…go make some homemade Greek yogurt!!!

Have you ever had Greek yogurt? What’s the most creative way you’ve used it?

46 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2011 2:27 pm

    I’m so going to do this now. I’ve known HOW I just haven’t and I don’t know why!! Totally stocking up on plain yogurt so I can make some! Does it matter if the yogurt is nonfat and what not?

    • February 9, 2011 2:56 pm

      I think (obviously) the nonfat yogurt won’t be as creamy as 1% or higher. But I used nonfat and it was fine, I love nonfat plain Greek yogurt!

  2. February 9, 2011 3:09 pm

    This is awesome! I always thought homemade Greek yogurt was hard to make – you make it look easy! My favorite ways to use Greek yogurt are in overnight oats, mixed with fruit, and eaten plain. Thanks for the demo! :-D

  3. February 9, 2011 3:16 pm

    Wow! Honestly I had no idea you could make it at home! Thats crazy! and it sounds so easyy!

  4. February 9, 2011 3:43 pm

    I LOVE greek yogurt! It’s so cute that you just discovered it was strained regular yogurt;) I used to make my own all the time, but Fage is seriously sooo good and you just can’t mock the texture! Plus they sell it at Costco so we buy 2 HUGE tubs of it (just for me and my mom!) to eat each week:) Your barley bowl below looks so delish btw!

    • February 9, 2011 4:36 pm

      Haha, I always thought Greek yogurt was some grand secret that only companies knew how to do it! :)

  5. February 9, 2011 4:25 pm

    That is just awesome. I’ve never made my own yogurt- let alone Greek yogurt- but that just looks fun! ;)

  6. February 9, 2011 4:44 pm

    My grandparents make their own Greek yogurt all the time!! So much better than store-bought yogurt because the thickness is on a whole other level! Greek yogurt is my #1 food obsession! I eat it every single day!

  7. February 9, 2011 6:40 pm

    That is SO cool! How much Greek Yogurt did it make?

    • February 10, 2011 5:06 pm

      Just 1 cup, 2 cups of plain yogurt makes 1 cup of Greek yogurt.

  8. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    February 9, 2011 6:53 pm

    WOw!!! If only I ate dairy again, I would make this because I used to love greek yogurt….However, my mom and sis love greek yogurt :)I will have to make it for them!

  9. February 9, 2011 7:05 pm

    This is going to save me a lot of money :)

  10. oatsandspice permalink
    February 9, 2011 7:11 pm

    Wow that is SO cool – I guess I never really knew you could make greek yogurt at home! What a great idea :)

    http://oatsandspice.wordpress.com

  11. Alexandra permalink
    February 9, 2011 7:36 pm

    I’ve done the same thing before! What this makes is actually considered “yogurt cheese” because it’s the curd from plain yogurt as opposed to a colloid on curd/whey in greek yogurt. Very similar, but not completely the same thing.

    YUM YUM!

    • February 10, 2011 5:07 pm

      Ohh, cool! I didn’t know that! Thanks for the info!

  12. February 9, 2011 7:38 pm

    I love a good tutorial lol I eat Fage all the time but never thought to make my own. Not a bad idea since it’s becoming pretty pricey to buy.

  13. February 9, 2011 8:42 pm

    I love that you did it with paper towels instead of cheese cloth, nice to know that’s an option! I wonder if it would work with coconut milk yogurt!

    • February 10, 2011 5:08 pm

      Hmm, I don’t know. I’ve never even had coconut milk yogurt!

  14. February 9, 2011 8:48 pm

    You have made this so simple.
    To me if its not thick its not yogurt!
    I love Greek yogurt and usually eat it with some honey and cinnamon or make tzatziki (or of course just have it naked yummy!)

  15. February 9, 2011 8:52 pm

    Wow, I didn’t know making greek yogurt was so simple! I definitely prefer it over plain but you’re right- it’s a lot more expensive. I’ll have to try this out. :)

  16. February 9, 2011 8:52 pm

    I tried to do this once, and I failed miserable. I think my problem was that I used only one paper towel and not enough yogurt. I am now determined to try again.

    I eat greek yogurt pretty much every day. I’m not too creative with it, but I’ve always wanted to try to make froyo with it.

  17. February 9, 2011 9:42 pm

    Wow I’m seriously going to try this. You may have just shown me the best invention minus a griddle.

  18. February 9, 2011 10:47 pm

    THIS is why I read your blog.. Such a great tid bit. I am definitely going to do this :) You rock!

  19. February 9, 2011 11:05 pm

    I never heard of making your own greek yogurt! Great tutorial!

  20. February 10, 2011 3:54 am

    Wow! i honestly didnt know how easy it was to make your own- pretty awesome!

  21. February 10, 2011 7:27 am

    I’ve never made Greek yogurt. Why not?????? It looks so easy and delicious! :) I’ll have to give it a try sometime!
    I love to eat Greek yogurt atop oatmeal or stir cinnamon into it and use it as a dip for bread :)

  22. February 10, 2011 6:38 pm

    That’s so cool that you made your own Greek yogurt. Your full of all kinds of good ideas ;)

  23. February 10, 2011 8:15 pm

    Wowww this is sooo cool Kayla! :D Who knew? Well you did haha. The most creative way? I would say when I use it as a extra moisture factor in cakes, breads, etc.

  24. February 10, 2011 8:48 pm

    My grandma used to make this for us! I’m Greek! Yours looks very authentic way to go!

  25. February 10, 2011 9:18 pm

    I love making homemade Greek yogurt! I use a big coffee filter for mine (easier clean-up!)

    I use Greek yogurt for everything! I love using it as a substitute for sour cream or, with a few drops of stevia added, whipped cream!

    • February 11, 2011 9:32 am

      Ooh, whipped cream! That’s SUCH a good idea!!

  26. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    February 10, 2011 10:35 pm

    That is so awesome that you made your own Greek yogurt, I’m surprised at how simple it is!

  27. February 11, 2011 1:44 am

    so cool!!! i have made regular yogurt before in africa but never greek yogurt. thats something i need to try!

  28. February 11, 2011 6:11 am

    I might just have to do this! Chobani & fage is way to expensive! Thanks girl :)

  29. February 11, 2011 10:02 am

    I definitely like Greek yogurt, but I still go back to plain ol’ yogurt sometimes.

    I love mixing a little peanut butter with yogurt and using it as a dip for sliced apples. It’s seriously an obsession!

  30. February 11, 2011 1:37 pm

    I’ve strained yogurt before!

    I make these fruit tarts every Easter that my family just RAVES over. the cream filling in the recipe was pretty fattening, so I wanted to replace it with yogurt.

    sooo.. what did I do? I strained it. :) just like your picture. and it worked like a charm!

    I’m also getting on the greek yogurt train.. my new fave green yogurt discovery is a post soon to come!

  31. February 11, 2011 2:01 pm

    Whoooa! I’m so impressed! I need to try this!

  32. February 11, 2011 10:51 pm

    AHHH greek yogurt is quite expensive so this is just awesome!

  33. February 12, 2011 1:26 am

    Oh my gosh Kayla I officially love you. haha I had NO idea you could make your own greek yogurt! Definitely doing this tomorrow. Thanks so much!

  34. February 12, 2011 7:59 am

    i’m so behind the curve and have not tried greek yogurt!

  35. February 12, 2011 9:48 am

    Wow, that is awesome. I honestly had no idea you could make it yourself at home. Will be trying this one! :)

  36. February 15, 2011 11:42 am

    Very cool you made it at home! I used to LOVE greek yogurt, I have not had it since 4 months ago, I just got sick of it : p lol! I might have it again! soon! xo

  37. Katherine permalink
    February 15, 2011 1:27 pm

    Thanks for the tip! Buying regular yogurt and making it into greek yogurt myself will help me save some money :)

    • February 15, 2011 10:20 pm

      Definitely, I think it will save me tons of money, too!

Trackbacks

  1. How to Make Greek Yogurt | Cooking for Seven Archives

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers