Skip to content

Whole Wheat Pizza Crust and a Mint Chocolate Shake

November 30, 2010

Well, I made the whole wheat pizza crust that I mentioned earlier.

It was perfect! It rose wonderfully and it tasted awesome! Jessica is a genius! I followed her recipe exactly.

Here’s a tip for getting the dough to rise: cover the dough with saran wrap and place it in a cold oven with the light on. The light will give off just enough heat to really help along the rising process.

See how thin I rolled the dough? Now THAT'S a perfect crust!

I topped my pizza with 1 T. olive oil, garlic powder (I should have done lots more!), 2 cups mozzarella cheese, 5 T. Parmesan cheese, 1 1/2  sliced tomatoes and green onion.

Remind me to ask Santa for a pizza stone!

Before baking...oops! Forgot the green onion!

Ahh, there's the green onion! Much better! Now into the oven we go...!

The original recipe said to bake for 30 minutes, but I only baked for 20 minutes.

Mmm, I wish you could have smelled this!

I calculated the calorie information for the pizza and 1/8 of the pizza was only 220 calories! Mission accomplished!

Sorry for the bad lighting, the sun goes down so early now, so I had to revert to inside photos!

After one slice I was still feeling hungry…hungry for some protein! I had Julie’s Thin Mint Protein Shake *drool*.

My new favorite Green Monster! So tasty!

Thin Mint Protein Shake

  • 2 large handfuls spinach
  • 1 1/2 scoops chocolate protein powder (45 g)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/8 teaspoon mint extract
  • 5 ice cubes

Blend until creamy and green! 🙂

Julie wasn’t kidding when she said it tastes like a Thin Mint Girl Scout Cookie! My mom is a HUGE fan of Thin Mints and I let her try some of it, and she (the one who usually makes faces at my spinach concoctions) said “This is actually really good!”

Haha, WIN!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 10:30 pm

    How much peppermint extract did you put in your shake? It looks good!

    • December 1, 2010 11:15 am

      You only need a tiny little bit, like 1/8 teaspoon! A little goes a looong way!

  2. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    December 1, 2010 11:58 am

    See! This is what makes me want to eat gluten again! Pizza crusts like this! Stop tempting me 😉

    I will be drinking that thin mint shake, though,…YUM! My favorite cookie 😉

    • December 2, 2010 10:54 am

      Oh, sorry! 😉 Haha!

      My mom has had the thin mint shake twice since I posted this! She LOVES it! Haha, and she can’t believe it’s healthy!

  3. December 2, 2010 1:36 pm

    I need to get my hands on some mint extract! it’s filling up the blogworld with uses from tea to shakes! 😀 xo.

  4. December 31, 2010 11:07 am

    Your smoothie looks so good! I’ll have to try out that peppermint extract — I’ve never used it before in a smoothie.

  5. Healthy Teen on a Mission permalink
    January 2, 2011 7:42 pm

    I definitely need to make this shake sometime!

Trackbacks

  1. Recipes! « Little Miss Healthify
  2. Reason For The Season « Little Miss Healthify
  3. Dark Chocolate Orange Brownie Balls « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a comment