Skip to content

Grilled Cashew Butter and Blueberry Sandwich

November 30, 2010

Lunch today was pretty stellar.

Observe:

Cashew butter and tart home-made blueberry jelly smothered between two grilled pieces of bread.

Heaven.

The cashew butter is not easy to make, lemme tell ya! Especially in a Vitamix. The Vita is very deep and rectangularly shaped which doesn’t make stirring the nut butter very easy as you’re trying to make it. But alas, I made it!

YUM!

I microwaved a 1/2 cup raw, unsalted cashews on a paper towel for 1 minute to quickly roast them and then blended them in the Vitamix with 2 t. olive oil until it turned to cashew butter!

For the homemade blueberry jelly I let about a 1/3 cup of frozen blueberries defrost on the counter for a few hours and then added the berries and the juice from the defrosting to the Vitamix and blended until they were at a “jelly” consistency. Then I let them cook over the stove until they got all bubbly and thick. No sugar added!

Why frozen blueberries? Well…fresh blueberries are so expensive! If I remember correctly it’s $5.88 for 3 oz? And if you buy them frozen you get a huge big bag for like the same price or cheaper, so that’s why!

Even though I have a deep love for cashews and blueberries together, I didn’t come up with this sandwich. Angela did and I saw Kelsey do it.

It was so good and I definitely would not have thought to put cashew butter and blueberry jam on a sandwich!!

Ah, what else is going on? Hmm, oh I just made Jessica’s whole wheat pizza crust. It’s rising right now. I always have the worst luck with making 100% whole wheat bread-type yeasty foods, so I hope this one turns out! I should have doubled the recipe, but I didn’t want to have the risk of wasting it if it didn’t work out! I’ve already wasted so much whole wheat flour on recipes that didn’t work! :(

My friend’s mom bakes all their bread from scratch. She does 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white. She said that she would invite me over and teach me how to bake bread! I’m so excited, I’ve tried so many recipes that just didn’t work!

I’ll post later with how the pizza turned out!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 4:18 pm

    hey girl! thanks for commenting!! looks like your new to blogworld- can’t wait to read more!!

  2. November 30, 2010 7:08 pm

    ahh man, that sandwich is totally the best! I know what you mean about making cashew butter in the Vita. It is really hard unless you’re making a huge amount. But you did it, and that’s what matters haha. Also, I totally agree with you about frozen blueberries. There has to be a reallyyyy good sale for me to buy them fresh, which never happens now with it being winter.

    My friend’s mom does the same thing! She uses all whole wheat though. I’ve asked for the recipe; I really want to get into making my own bread.

    • November 30, 2010 7:58 pm

      Yeah, if you can get it right, homemade bread is the best!

  3. November 30, 2010 9:24 pm

    Um…. YUM. That looks DeLiCiOuS!!!! :)

  4. December 7, 2010 2:10 pm

    That sandwich must’ve come from my dreams… it’s beautiful1 :)

  5. January 6, 2011 6:32 pm

    Yum that sandwich looks tasty!
    annd, making your own nut butters is fun.

    i’m new to the blogging world, yours looks great! :)

Trackbacks

  1. Recipes! « Little Miss Healthify
  2. Little Miss Healthify
  3. Weird Oatmeal Combo and Brown Fried Rice « Little Miss Healthify
  4. Pumpkin-Maple-Cinnamon Oatmeal For Two « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers